Naked: My Reading Habits Revealed

I’ve been tagged by my virtual-friend and author Sheila Renee Parker to answer questions on my reading habits. I can’t say the following is sexy, but I can tell you, for me, it all starts with a good book cover: lust and love at first sight. And from there it grows, an undying attraction. There’s something about the scent of pressed pulp laced with the aroma of freshly dried ink; it’s like a drug; an addiction, and I know the reward is a good story waiting to be read. Alright, enough of the foreplay, let’s get naked. Here’s my reading habits revealed:

Do you have a certain place at home for reading?  I have many: the couch when no one is home, under a tree in my backyard when the weather is warm, sitting in the basement lounged in an Ikea Poang chair or in bed propped up by pillows. If I had to pick one the winner would be reading in bed (clothes optional).

Bookmark or random piece of paper?  I love a unique bookmark. And here’s a surprise: I once used a fifty dollar bill to mark a book. I couldn’t finish the book because I had to pack and move. A year later I unpacked a box, found the book I hadn’t finished and felt like I’d won the lotto.

Can you just stop reading or do you have to stop after a chapter/a certain amount of pages?  I am a chapter reader. I have to finish the chapter I’m in, but I also like to pace myself at 50 pages per sitting (ending on a chapter).

Do you eat or drink while reading?  I don’t eat, but I do like beer and book pairings.

Multitasking: Music or TV while reading?  None. My imagination is all the entertainment I need.

One book at a time or several at once?  I have a reading disorder whereby I tend to have more than one book on the go. A polygamy of prose. Forget Sister Wives: Sister Books is where it’s at.

Reading at home or everywhere? Everywhere. I find escapism in reading. It’s a great way to leave the real world behind no matter where you are.

Reading out loud or silently in your head?  In my head. The only words that come out of my mouth when reading are usually expletives or reactionary shock during the parts of a book that drive my emotions.

Do you read ahead or even skip pages?  No. I have to go from A to Z when I read a book, and if I don’t like it I’ll plow through regardless.

Breaking the spine or keeping it like new?  I have to go with both. I like keeping my books looking brand new, but I also have an attraction to the broken and used books, they have character, and I like building character. Break that spine!

Do you write in your books?  Never. No need to clutter the work of others with my chicken scrawl. If I need to make notes I put them somewhere else.

2 comments

  1. Very enlightening, Darryl! I especially like the Sister Books and the fifty-dollar bill. I’m sure you’ve kept the bill as a good-luck book mark!

Leave a Reply

